Serpent Ascending – The Enigma Unsettled CD


1. The Mournful Pilgrimage – Part I 02:20
2. Saturnal 03:56
3. The Human Ladders 03:30
4. The Mournful Pilgrimage – Part II 03:58
5. The Entwinement 04:22
6. World Of Flesh On Bone 04:03
7. Serpent Ascending 03:05
8. The Enigma Unsettled 03:43
9. Endless Initiations 04:33


Out of stock

SKU: IVR007 Category:

Coming from Helsinki, Finland, SERPENT ASCENDING is the dark projection of Jarno Nurmi, appreciated bass/guitar player and singer in bands like Slugathor, Desecresy, Nerlich, Night Must Fall, and Nowen.
Firmly rooted in the old school of death metal, but far from being another sterile revival of the late 80’s/early 90’s, Serpent Ascending started a peculiar creative process that allocates death metal into an inner – yet still nightmarish – dimension of the soul, where cavernous growls lay down on nervous and slanted guitar riffs, vertiginous bass grooves, sudden bursts of speed, and swampy slowdowns. Apparently simple and straight to the point, Serpent Ascending’s music hides a remarkable work on subtle harmonies and flowing songwriting, with atmospheric nuances and intriguing details that crawl unseen into each song as well as in the listener’s subconscious, bringing forth a hallucinating, twisted and occult vibe.
“The Enigma Unsettled” collectes both the “Serpent Ascending” and “The Mournful Pilgrimage” recordings from 2009 and 2010 on one record, together with a brand new song.
Serpent Ascending is the feverish, solipsistic delirium of an artist that renovates the true spirit and typical dark heaviness of Finnish death metal in his own, personal way.

Weight 200 g

Record Label


File Under